Why Do DUI Convictions Increase During the Holidays?
As the holidays draw closer, holiday parties and festivities cause Wisconsinites to be faced with the decision to drink and drive. If convicted, drivers face hefty penalties that may put a damper on their holiday festivities.
Staying Safe This Holiday Season
Thanksgiving Eve, also referred to as “Black Wednesday, is the start of the holiday DUI season. Through New Year’s Day, police around the state pay even closer attention to drivers on the road to prevent fatal DUI accidents. Local police also camp out near local taverns and other places where alcohol is served.
The best way for drivers across Wisconsin to stay safe and avoid a DUI during the holidays is to arrange a designated driver before they head out for the night. Whether this means relying on popular rideshare options, such as Lyft and Uber, or a friend or family member attending the same party, having a way home is essential.
Fighting Your Holiday DUI Conviction
According to Wisconsin law, you can be considered operating while under the influence if you’re operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. You can also be considered impaired as a result of ingesting a controlled substance.
If you do drink and drive this holiday season and are convicted of a DUI, you face serious consequences:
- First Offense: Monetary fines ranging from $150-$300, surcharges, and possible driver's license revocation for up to 9 months.
- Second Offense: Monetary fines ranging from $150 to $1,100, possible jail time up to 6 months, up to 6 months confinement and surcharges, and mandatory driver’s license revocation for at least 12 months.
- Third Offense: Monetary fines ranging from $600-$4,000, possible felony charges, and 45 days to 2 years confinement.
- Fourth Offense: Class H felony, automatic $600-minimum fine, and an automatic 60-day jail sentence.
- Fifth & Sixth Offenses: Class G felony. Minimum mandatory fine of $600 and as much as $25,000, as well as a minimum of 6 months in jail, maximum of 10 years in prison, plus other fees and surcharges, 2-3 years driver’s license revocation, and 1-3 years required ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
The risks of serious charges exist whether this was your first DUI or your third. Having a determined DUI attorney with a track record of success can help lower your charges and keep you at home for the holidays.
Milwaukee Drunk Driving Defense Attorneys
At Melowski & Singh, LLC, we’re about real success that keeps you out of jail and helps maintain a record without a DUI conviction.
Contact our team today to book a consultation by calling (920) 294-1414 or filling out our online contact form.